Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Please consider nominating outstanding colleagues for the AAG Honors, the highest awards offered by the American Association of Geographers!

AAG Honors are offered annually to recognize outstanding accomplishments by members in research and scholarship, teaching, education, service to the discipline, public service outside academe and for lifetime achievement.

Individual AAG members, specialty groups, affinity groups, departments, and other interested parties are encouraged to nominate outstanding colleagues by July 15. Currently, honors are awarded in several categories, including:

  • Distinguished Teaching Honors
  • Gilbert F. White Distinguished Public Service Honors
  • Ronald F. Abler Distinguished Service Honors
  • Gilbert Grosvenor Honors for Geographic Education
  • Distinguished Scholarship Honors
  • Lifetime Achievement Honors

AAG Honors are selected annually by the AAG Honors Committee from a collection of nomination submissions.

Please submit your nominations to grantsawards [at] aag [dot] org. Additional information and guidelines for Honors nominations are available here: