Print Friendly, PDF & Email

This new annual award recognizes outstanding achievement in teaching undergraduate geography including the use of innovative teaching methods. The award is generously funded by John Wiley & Sons in memory of their long-standing collaboration with the late Harm de Blij on his seminal geography textbooks.

Eligibility: Individual faculty or instructors who are current members of the AAG and for whom teaching geography is a primary responsibility are eligible to receive the award.

Nominations: To make nominations for the AAG Harm J. de Blij Award, you must be a current member of the AAG. Please include the complete name, affiliation and address of the nominee(s), their curriculum vitae, and a concise (500 words maximum) yet specific description of the accomplishments that warrant their selection. Digital submissions are encouraged. Send nominations to grantsawards [at] aag [dot] org with AAG Harm J. de Blij Award as the subject line. Alternatively, hard copy nominations can be mailed to:

ATTN: AAG Harm J. de Blij Award
Association of American Geographers
1710 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20009-3198.

For more detail about this new award, please visit