Print Friendly, PDF & Email

AAG Honors, the highest awards offered by the Association of American Geographers, are offered annually to recognize outstanding accomplishments by members in research & scholarship, teaching, education, service to the discipline, public service outside academe and for lifetime achievement.  Although the AAG and its specialty groups make other important awards (see Grants and Awards), AAG Honors remain among the most prestigious awards in American geography and have been awarded since 1951.

Individual AAG members, specialty groups, affinity groups, departments, and other interested parties are encouraged to nominate outstanding colleagues by June 30. Currently, honors are awarded in several categories, including:

  • Distinguished Teaching Honors
  • Gilbert F. White Distinguished Public Service Honors
  • Ronald F. Abler Distinguished Service Honors
  • Gilbert Grosvenor Honors for Geographic Education
  • Distinguished Scholarship Honors
  • Lifetime Achievement Honors

The AAG Media Acheivement Award and the AAG Publication Award are also selected by the AAG Honors Committee.

Deadline: June 30, yearly

Visit the AAG’s Grants and Awards page for more information about these and other areas of recognition.