Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The 114th Congress was officially sworn in on January 6. The new Congress includes a freshman class of 52 Representatives (36 Republicans and 16 Democrats) and 12 Senators (11 Republicans and 1 Democrat), as well as a new GOP majority in the Senate. The party split now stands at 246 Republicans to 188 Democrats (and 1 vacancy) in the House and 54 Republicans, 44 Democrats, and 2 Independents in the Senate.

Several committee chairs and ranking members have been announced in recent days, including for committees and subcommittees overseeing funding and policies important to geography and GIScience research, as well as related social and behavioral science issues. These appointments will weigh heavily on the priorities and activities of the committees over the next year. A few notable appointments known so far:

House Appropriations Committee

Chairman: Hal Rogers (R-KY), reappointed
Ranking Member: Nita Lowey (D-NY), reappointed

Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science
Chairman: John Culberson (R-TX)
Ranking Member: Chaka Fattah (D-PA), reappointed

Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education
Chairman: Tom Cole (R-OK)
Ranking Member: Rosa DeLauro (D-CT), reappointed

Senate Appropriations Committee

Chairman: Thad Cochran (R-MS)
Ranking Member: Barbara Mikulski (D-MD)

Senate Commerce, Science and Transportation Committee

Chairman: John Thune (R-SD)
Ranking Member: Bill Nelson (D-FL)

Subcommittee on Science and Space
Chairman: Ted Cruz (R-TX)

House Science, Space and Technology Committee

Chairman: Lamar Smith (R-TX), reappointed
Ranking Member: Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX), reappointed

House Energy and Commerce Committee

Chairman: Fred Upton (R-MI), reappointed
Ranking Member: Frank Pallone (D-NJ)

Subcommittee on Health
Chairman: Joe Pitts (R-PA), reappointed

Courtesy COSSA Washington Update