Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Support from this grant program is awarded to outstanding students from community colleges, junior colleges, city colleges, or similar two-year educational institutions to attend the next AAG Annual Meeting. These travel funds are generously provided by Darrel Hess and Robert and Bobbé Christopherson.  The award consists of meeting registration, one year membership in the AAG, and a travel expense subsidy of $500 to be used to defray the costs of attending the AAG Annual Meeting.

Eligibility: You are eligible to apply if you are a student currently enrolled at a US community college, junior college, city college, or similar two-year educational institution at the time you submit your application. Students from minority and underrepresented groups are encouraged to apply. You do NOT need to formally participate in the meeting (e.g. paper presentation, poster, panel, etc.) to be eligible. However, if you do, please acknowledge support from the program in any presentations or publications.

Criteria: Selection will be based on the overall quality of the application, scholastic excellence and academic promise. Preference will be given to geography majors, or from institutions which do not have geography programs, to applicants who have taken geography courses and/or plan to continue to study geography in four-year institutions. Financial need will also be considered. The selection committee will observe the purposes and preferences noted above when evaluating proposals. Two to four awards will be made annually. Awards may not be made in years when funds are insufficient or proposals are not suitable.

For more information.