Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Deadlines for some AAG awards are approaching in September and October. If you would like to nominate someone or apply on your own behalf, please follow the links highlighted in each award description below to the submission information on each award description page.

The AAG Excellence in Mentoring Award is given annually to an individual geographer , group, or department who has demonstrated extraordinary leadership in building supportive academic and professional environments in their departments, associations, and institutions and guiding the academic and or professional growth of their students and junior colleagues. Deadline for nominations is September 15, 2014.

AAG’s Enhancing Diversity Award honors those geographers who have pioneered efforts toward or actively participated in efforts toward encouraging a more diverse discipline over the course of several years. Deadline for nominations is September 15, 2014.

The AAG Honorary Geographer award recognizes excellence in research, teaching, or writing on geographic topics by non-geographers. Deadline for nominations is September 15, 2014.

The AAG Stanley Brunn Award for Creativity in Geography is given annually to an individual geographer or team that has demonstrated originality, creativity, and significant intellectual breakthroughs in geography. Deadline for nominations is September 20, 2014.

The J. Warren Nystrom Award supports an annual prize for a paper based upon a recent dissertation in geography. Deadline for applications is September 22, 2014.

Marble-Boyle Undergraduate Achievement Awards recognize undergraduate students bridging geographic science and computer science. Deadline for digital submissions is October 15, 2014.

Harold M. Rose Award for Anti-Racism Research and Practice honors geographers’ service to advancing the discipline through their research, and who have also had on impact on anti-racist practice. Deadline for nominations is October 15, 2014.