Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The 2014 AAG Tellers Committee has reported the results of the AAG 2014 Election. Those elected are:

President:  Mona Domosh, Dartmouth College

Vice President:  Sarah Witham Bednarz, Texas A&M University

National Councillors:  Florence M. Margai, SUNY Binghamton; Stuart C. Aitken, San Diego State University

Nominating Committee:  William G. Moseley, Macalester College; Jill S. M. Coleman, Ball State University; Katherine Klink, University of Minnesota Twin Cities

Honors Committee A:  Rickie Sanders, Temple University

Honors Committee B:  Ann M. Oberhauser, West Virginia University; Julie Cidell, University of Illinois

Non-binding AAG Name Change poll: AAG members were in favor of changing the AAG name from the Association of American Geographers to the American Association of Geographers, by a vote of 1704 voting yes and 475 voting no (approximately 79% voting in favor of the name change and 21% not in favor).

Total voters:       2,343
Online voters:    2,311
By Mail voters:       32

The AAG particularly would like to thank all of the distinguished candidates who were nominated — itself a significant honor — and who ran in the election. The AAG looks forward to working together with both those elected and those nominated and not elected to move the AAG forward in the coming year. The terms of office for those elected will begin July 1, 2014.

—Doug Richardson, Executive Director

See the 2014 Election Page for more information about those elected and about the name change poll.