Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Keynote by Hon. Sec. Ronald L. Walker, Massachusetts Secretary of Labor: Massachusetts’s Workforce Investment Programs and AAG Emerging Workforce Scholars Recognition Ceremony
This year, the AAG launched a unique new initiative called the Emerging Workforce Scholars Program. The program allows aspirational high school and undergraduate students from underserved Boston-area communities to attend the annual meeting and interact with geography and geoscience professionals to learn about the work they perform and the preparation needed for careers in their field. The program builds on the AAG’s long-term commitment to enhancing diversity in geography and the geosciences and addressing equity and social justice issues. In support of this program, the Honorable Ronald L. Walker, II, Massachusetts Secretary of Labor and Workforce Development will be keynote speaker at the recognition ceremony for the AAG Emerging Workforce Scholars program participants.
Front: Merlanda Bozor, Thomas Thermidor, Catherine Van Even, Lleika Crewe, Sec. Ronald L. Walker, Cecilia Pires, Arianna Ortiz-Dixon, Brian Madrigal, Kicthner Lubin; Second: Jeannette Jimenez, Shamara Rhodes, Drew Lehman, Alix Leger; Back: Amyas McKnight, Valter Gomes (Boston PIC), Tyler Thomas, Glen MacDonald (AAG President), Xavier Aguirre Echevarria-Ruiz (from L to R)
The 2017 AAG Annual Meeting was held in Boston April 5-9 at the Hynes Convention Center. (Photos by Jenn Bailey)