Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2017 AAG Election Results

Dear AAG members,

The AAG Tellers Committee has reported the results of the 2017 AAG Election. Those elected to office are as follows:

President:  Derek H. Alderman, University of Tennessee.

Vice President: Sheryl Luzzadder-Beach, University of Texas-Austin.

National Councilors: Lorraine Dowler, Pennsylvania State University; Jamie Winders, Syracuse University.

Nominating Committee: Perry Carter, Texas Tech University; Jennifer Clark, Georgia Institute of Technology; Shannon O’Lear, University of Kansas.

Honors Committee A: Wendy Jepson, Texas A&M University. Honors Committee B: Lisa DeChano-Cook, Western Michigan University; Rebecca Lave, Indiana University.

Constitutional changes to add a student member to Council: Approved

I particularly would like to thank all of the distinguished candidates who were nominated–itself a significant honor–and who ran in the election. I look forward to working together with both those elected and those nominated and not elected to move the AAG forward in the coming year. The terms of office for those elected will begin July 1, 2017.

Very best wishes to all,

Douglas Richardson, PhD
Executive Director
American Association of Geographers