Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Awards_luncheon_smallAAG Honors, the highest awards offered by the American Association of Geographers, are offered annually to recognize outstanding accomplishments by members in research and scholarship, teaching, education, service to the discipline, public service outside academe and for lifetime achievement. Although the AAG and its specialty groups make other important awards (see Grants and Awards), AAG Honors remain among the most prestigious awards in American geography and have been awarded since 1951.

Individual AAG members, specialty groups, affinity groups, departments, and other interested parties are encouraged to nominate outstanding colleagues by June 30. Currently, honors are awarded in several categories, including:

  • Distinguished Teaching Honors
  • Gilbert F. White Distinguished Public Service Honors
  • Ronald F. Abler Distinguished Service Honors
  • Gilbert Grosvenor Honors for Geographic Education
  • Distinguished Scholarship Honors
  • Lifetime Achievement Honors

AAG Honors are selected annually from a collection of nomination submissions by the AAG Honors Committee. Explore the list on the right hand side of the AAG’s Grants and Awards page for more information about these and other areas of recognition.