Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The biennial William L. Garrison Award for Best Dissertation in Computational Geography supports innovative research into the computational aspects of geographic science. The award is intended to arouse a more general and deeper understanding of the important role that advanced computation can play in resolving the complex problems of space–time analysis that are at the core of geographic science. The award is one of the activities of the Marble Fund for Geographic Science of the Association of American Geographers (AAG).

Initial Nominations are due October 15, 2015.

The Garrison award consists of a cash prize in the amount of $3,500 and a formal certificate of merit. The formal presentation of the Garrison Award will take place at the annual meeting of the AAG following the announcement of the award.

Eligibility: The award is open to candidates associated with any institution of higher education, anywhere in the world, that is authorized to award the doctorate.

Dissertations completed in the two-year period beginning on September 1st of 2013 and terminating on August 31st of 2015 will be eligible for nomination. In the context of this award, a dissertation is considered to be completed when the final version of the document is deposited with and has been accepted by the institution of higher education awarding the degree.

Dissertations to be considered for this award may be placed in nomination by either the candidate’s doctoral advisor or by a member of the dissertation committee.

The initial nomination documents must consist of:

  • A signed letter of nomination, prepared on institutional letterhead, which clearly sets forth the reasons for nominating the dissertation. The letter must also provide an objective assessment of the candidate’s future research potential,
  • A current and complete vita of the candidate, and
  • An extended abstract of the dissertation, including its full title, that addresses the selection of the research problem, the research methodology adopted (explicitly addressing the nature of the computational approach employed), and the anticipated contribution of the research results.


All nomination materials must be received no later than the close of business on October 15, 2015 to be considered in the current competition. 

IMPORTANT: The initial nominating documentation is limited to these three items. Copies of the dissertation are not to be included.


Nomination materials should be emailed as a single attachment in an Adobe Acrobat pdf file without password protection to: cmannozzi [at] aag [dot] org

The required hard copies should be mailed to:

Candida Mannozzi

Attn: Garrison Award


1710 16th Street, NW

Washington, DC 20009



For more detail on the Garrison Award, please visit: